Hamza Kashgari reportedly released

Saudi journalist Hamza Kashgari has been freed after being jailed since February 2012, according to BBC News. Kashgari was arrested by Saudi Arabian authorities  (with the assistance of Malaysia, where he passed through while fleeing) because he had tweeted these lines, addressed to the Prophet Mohmmed,

On your birthday, I will say that I have loved the rebel in you, that you’ve always been a source of inspiration to me, and that I do not like the halos of divinity around you. I shall not pray for you.

On your birthday, I find you wherever I turn. I will say that I have loved aspects of you, hated others, and could not understand many more.

On your birthday, I shall not bow to you. I shall not kiss your hand. Rather, I shall shake it as equals do, and smile at you as you smile at me. I shall speak to you as a friend, no more.

No formal public charges were ever brought against Kashgari.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

